(605) 773-3134      Contact Us

Shared Services

Senate Bill 133 from the 2016 legislative session included an on-going appropriation to the South Dakota Department of Education to provide two types of shared services: 1) those involving state-purchased goods and services provided to districts, and 2) those involving district sharing employees.

The South Dakota Department of Education announces the Employee Shared Service Grant opportunity for accredited public K-12 school districts.


Application proposals for the Employee Shared Services Grant may be submitted by an accredited public school district in South Dakota.

Maximum Grant Amount

Public districts may apply for up to three years of funding with a fifty percent reduction in annual funding in year two and seventy-five percent reduction in year three. No more than three new shared employees will be awarded per application.

Application Deadline

No new applications are being accepted.

Grant Recipients

2017-18 Grant Recipients:

  • Baltic, Colman-Egan, & Tri-Valley
  • Canistota & Montrose
  • DeSmet & Elkton
  • Estelline, Hamlin, & Willow Lake
  • Ethan, Sanborn Central, Woonsocket, & Mount Vernon
  • Miller & Redfield
  • Waubay & Webster

2016-17 Grant Recipients:

  • Baltic & Garretson
  • Belle Fourche & Spearfish
  • Bridgewater-Emery & Hanson
  • Deuel & Milbank
  • Florence & Henry
  • Marion & Parker


General Questions about Employee Shared Services Grants can be directed to:
the South Dakota Department of Education, (605) 773-2490

For questions on financial accounting related to grant awards, contact:
Bobbi Leiferman at (605)773-5407

For questions regarding Personnel Record Form System (PRF), contact:
Jantina Nelson-Stastny at (605) 668-2904