DOE Logo         (605) 773-3134      Contact Us

Distance Learning Workgroup

The Department of Education is engaging in conversations with stakeholders statewide to understand the future of distance learning in South Dakota. The workgroup will engage K-12 educators and other pertinent stakeholders in the process to define or re-define what distance education is in South Dakota and how it might look in the future.

Beginning in May 2021, and working throughout the summer of 2021, the group will consider current resources and practices and compile recommendations for policies and best practices related to distance learning.

Upon completion of the summer meetings, the Department of Education will draft a final document that captures the group's recommendations.

  • Alan Neville, Waubay School District
  • Amber Mikkelsen, Agar-Blunt-Onida School District
  • Andrea Powell, Armour and Tripp-Delmont School Districts
  • Brad McDonald, Tri-Valley School District
  • Brian Corlett, Colman School District
  • Camille Kaul, Aberdeen School District
  • Camrin Vaux, Brookings School District
  • Carol Galbraith, Todd County School District
  • Casey Bailey, DIAL Virtual School
  • Chad Conaway, Lennox School District
  • Charlotte Mohling, Wessington Springs School District
  • Cherly Medearis, Sinte Gleska University
  • Chris McGregor, Scotland School District
  • Connie Godfrey, Black Hills Online Learning Community (BHOLC)
  • David Swank, Rapid City School District
  • Dustin Degen, Beresford School District
  • Elizabeth Herrboldt, Tea Area School District
  • Jami Werkmeister, Armour School District
  • Jason Smidt, Brookings School District
  • Jennifer Scheff, Sioux Falls School District
  • Julie Mathiesen, Technology & Innovation in Education (TIE)
  • Kari Berger, Waubay School District
  • Kris Evje, Milbank School District
  • Lakisha Jordan, Pierre School District
  • Linda Olsen, SD Board of Education Standards
  • Lori Wagner, Northern State University E-Learning
  • Lynsie Weich, Plankinton School District
  • Mandy Grantham, Advisory Council
  • Mary Cundy, Northern State University
  • Michelle Hanson, University of Sioux Falls
  • Michael Christopherson, Harrisburg School District
  • Rayann Larson, Plankinton School District
  • Samantha Fischbach, Lake Area Technical College
  • Steven Rokusek, South Dakota Public Broadcasting
  • Summer Schultz, Dell Rapids School District
  • Sheri Nelson, Brandon Valley School District
  • Tom Farrell, Madison School District
  • Tina Board, Aberdeen School District
  • Tricia Lasley, Hanson School District

For more information, contact Jennifer Tschetter at 605-295-7304.